Cameo no longer has separate privilege settings to allow users to update either members or contacts. There is now only a single edit privilege, controlling whether a Cameo user can change (or if not set, just view) a membership record whether contact or member.
The previous situation was causing problems, especially where the two overlapped but the user doing it only had one of the privileges, for example when merging memberships. The distinction was always somewhat problematic, and most Cameo installs have a greater emphasis that I had originally envisaged on contacts as “free members” or sign-ups (as opposed to people the organisation would want to involve, like press or political representatives).
People who previously only had contact privilege enabled have been updated now to have edit privilege instead. Those who had neither are unchanged.